Internet Radio

PPP opposition members sworn in at 7th Parliamentary seating, no nominations for Deputy Speaker

Last Updated on Monday, 17 August 2015, 18:33 by GxMedia

Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo among other PPP MPs seated in the House

by Zena Henry

The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) has taken up its opposition seats in the National Assembly Monday August 17 when the House was convened for its seventh sitting. The 32-member opposition team answered to their names following roll call, and took their oath as Members of Parliament (MPs).

The first to take the oath was Opposition Leader Bharrat Jagdeo and then PPP General Secretary Clement Rohee followed by the opposition’s Chief Whip, Gail Teixeira and other members.

Also taking their seats are some controversial figures of the opposition such as former self declared “chatree” Attorney General Anil Nandlall, charged former Minister of Public Service Jennifer Westford, resigned former Local Government Minister Ganga Persuad, charged and dismissed former Health Minister Bheri Ramsarran and former Amerindian Affairs Minister Pauline Sukhai who got GUY$2.1 million in dental assistance. Several former holders of high public officerand state entities are new to the Parliamentary seats. They include former Permanent Secretaries Nigel Dharamlall and Colin Croal as well as former Chairman of the Berbice Regional Health Authority, Dr. Vish Mahadeo.

Speaker of the House Dr. Barton Scotland made it know that in the previous six sittings of the House some six pieces of legislations were brought to the House, while three have been passed in the House and assented to by President David Granger.

The Speaker urged respectful interactions among the members in fulfilling the work of the people.  “Let us honourable members by conduct of our affairs, confirm to citizens the best regard for their proceedings.”

He charged that there is much work to be done by 11th Parliament and further urged members to remain steadfast in their efforts.

When a nomination for Deputy Speaker was requested from the opposition, Teixeira said the PPP had none at this time. 

The House Speaker then announced that the matter has been deferred to the next sitting of the House.