New GPC is franchise holder for Caribbean Premier League cricket

Last Updated on Saturday, 26 December 2015, 21:01 by GxMedia

Guyana Franchise Partner Dr Ranjisingh ‘Bobby’ Ramroop and CPL CEO Damien O’Donohoe

Georgetown, Guyana – With just over seven weeks to go until the inaugural Caribbean Premier League kicks off, CPL Ltd are pleased to announce the signing of its first franchise agreement on behalf of Guyana, CPL said in a statement.

The franchisee is well known Guyanese businessman Dr. Ranjisingh ’Bobby’ Ramroop, owner of the New Guyana Pharmaceutical Corporation (New GPC). The final agreement with Dr. Ramroop was signed just yesterday in Guyana with CPL officials. This announcement comes hot on the heels of the recent selection of the new Franchise based teams that took place on Wednesday, 5 June in Mobay.

Headquartered in Guyana, New GPC Inc. has been operating for ninety years and is the Caribbean’s oldest and largest pharmaceutical manufacturer of generic pharmaceuticals, over-the-counter cosmetics preparations and veterinary products of the highest quality.

Dr. Ramroop was very excited about what is to come as the new owner of the Guyana franchise.

“The CPL is just what we needed in the Caribbean and in Guyana.  This tournament and my companies’ investment will help to develop cricket talent and also stimulate economies across the region,” said Ramroop.  “We are elated to be part of this inaugural year and look forward to the growth and development of CPL which we believe will be the envy of the cricketing world.”

Guyana’s franchise players are West Indian Sunil Narine and Pakistan player Mohammed Hafeez.  They are joined by players drafted on Wednesday – Ramnaresh Sarwan, Lendl Simmons, Denesh Ramdin, James Franklin, Chris Barnwell, Martin Guptill, Krishmar Santokie, William Perkins, Steven Jacobs, Ronsford Beaton, Trevon Griffith, Narsingh Deonarine and Veerasammy Permaul.  

“We are thrilled to have Dr Ramroop and his group of companies as part of the CPL,” said Damien O’Donohoe, CPL CEO. “It is clear that he understands our vision and what we want to achieve. We appreciate the enthusiasm he brings and we believe that Team Guyana will benefit greatly from his support.” 

The inaugural Caribbean Premier League starts on 30 July in Barbados and concludes on 24 August in Trinidad.  The matches in Guyana take place 31st July and 2nd and 4th August.