BREAKING: Jagdeo’s nominees for GECOM Chairmanship “unacceptable”

Last Updated on Sunday, 8 January 2017, 13:20 by Denis Chabrol

​President David Granger says Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo’s list of six names for GECOM Chairman is “unacceptable.”

He said the Constitution provides for the person to have been a judge.

“The only thing about the list is that it comprises six names,” Granger told a media brunch.

He noted that ultimately if the lists submitted by the Opposition Leader, he could go ahead and appoint an eligible person.

Jagdeo has submitted the names of Governance and Conflict Resolution Specialist, Lawrence Lachmansingh; Businesswoman, Rhyaan Shah; History Professor, James Rose; Retired Major General Norman Mc Lean;  Business Executive, Ramesh Dookhoo and Attorney-at-Law and Chartered Accountant, Christopher Ram.