Internet Radio

UG’s new Council apppointed

Last Updated on Thursday, 27 August 2015, 23:03 by GxMedia

The University of Guyana (UG) has appointed a new Council, but without a representative so far from the main opposition People’s Progressive Party Civic (PPPC).

At its first formal meeting held Wednesday night, the governing body agreed to establish a Gender Institute and consider the appointment of a Chancellor.

The Government Information Agency (GINA) reported Thursday that Minister of Education, Dr. Rupert Roopnaraine was very optimistic that former Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies, Guyanese Dr. Nigel Harris would be UG’s next Chancellor.

He noted that he can only recommend, not appoint Harris, as this is the right of the Council … to make the appointment. “It would lift the spirit at the University and begin to move us to where we want to go,” stated Minister Roopnaraine.

Roopnaraine was also quoted as saying that come October, the likelihood exists that the Council will be looking for a Vice Chancellor, as Professor Jacob Opadeyi is expected to leave the University. “This means that we will have to go through an entire process of advertising and getting applications, and so we can choose someone for the University; one who will make a difference (at the University),” Minister Roopnaraine said.

Opadeyi’s contract expires in February, 2016.

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo told Demerara Waves Online News that he received a “note” from Dr. Roopnaraine requesting a nominee to the Council. Jagdeo said he would consult with his party before submitting the name of his party’s representative.

The ruling A Partnership for National Unity+ Alliance For Change (APNU+ AFC) coalition’s representative to the governing body of the more than 50-year old tertiary institution is Vincent Alexander.

Demerara Waves Online News was told that the following are the Council members so far.

They are:

Ministry of Education- Delma Nedd, Permanent Secretary.

University of Guyana workers- Dr. Melissa Ifill

University of Guyana Students Society- Elsie Harry

Academic Board- Calvin Bernard

Committee of Deans- Dr. Paulette Bynoe

Legal interests- Attorney-at-Law Christopher Ram, Guyana Bar Association

Gender – Attorney-at-Law Romona Rookhum, Guyana Women Lawyers Association

Medical Interest- Dr. Hardat Persaud

Medical Interest- Dr. Shoba Gobin, Guyana Medical Council

Indigenous Peoples- Jean La Rose, Amerindian People’s Association

Labour – Ivor English, Guyana Trades Union Congress

Business – Samuel Goolsarran

APNU+AFC- Vincent Alexander

Pro-Chancellor- Bibi Shadick

Registrar- Dr. Nigel Gravesande (ex-officio)

Vice Chancellor, Professor Dr. Jacob Opadeyi

Stand-alone Airport Delay Map

Find us on Facebook