Internet Radio

Caribbean tax essay winners announced

Last Updated on Tuesday, 22 July 2014, 23:25 by GxMedia

Commissioner General of the Guyana Revenue Authority, Kurshid Sattaur, receives the trophy from Board Member Enid Bissember of the Caribbean Association of Banks on behalf of Jessica Ramnauth of the Brickdam Secondary School. Jessica won second prize in the regional essay competition sponsored by the Caribbean Organisation of Tax Administration (COTA) (GINA photo)

The Caribbean Organisation of Tax Administration (COTA) on Monday announced the winners of the essay competition that was launched earlier this year under the theme “The tax code is a road map for law abiding citizens and businesses to pay what they legally owe, not an obstacle course to be gamed and gotten around”.

This competition was aimed at stimulating and encouraging interest in taxation matters.

First prize of US$1,000 and a trophy was awarded to 15-year-old Martha Bholanay Racoonay of the Helena J. Robinson High School of the Turks and Caicos Islands.

Second prize of US$750 went to Jessica Ramnauth of the Brickdam Secondary School, Guyana. The third placed winner of US $500 (US) was awarded to Justin Timothy Freighter of Cornwall College, Jamaica.

In addition to the prizes for the students, the schools which they attend will also receive a laptop.

The essay competition was launched by the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) in collaboration with COTA, after it was found that many persons in the Caribbean, particularly in Guyana, were not knowledgeable about taxation matters. The collaborative effort was aimed at youths, particularly to encourage them to become “tax matters wise” so that they can impart the information to others.

The best three essays were selected for entry into the regional level competition from which the winners were determined and announced during COTA’s 23rd General Assembly and Technical Conference at the Guyana Pegasus.

During the opening session of the Conference, awards for recognition and appreciation were also given to former heads of COTA. 


Stand-alone Airport Delay Map

Find us on Facebook