Police Service Commission members identified

Last Updated on Friday, 20 June 2014, 2:07 by GxMedia

Parliament Building

The National Assembly has identified several persons to sit on the Police Service Commission (PSC) which is responsible for disciplinary measures and the appointment of all ranks above the level of inspector.

The House’s Appointments Committee has selected Retired Deputy Police Commissioner (Crime Chief), Alvin Smith; Retired Deputy Commissioner Harold Martin, Retired Assistant Police Commissioner (Head of Special Branch) Keith John, and Omesh Satyanand.

After they are sworn in by the President, their first order would be to address long-awaited promotion of senior officers. Those were stalled since the death of the PSC’s Chairman, Dennis Morgan in November 2012.

Satyanand was nominated by the National Community Policing Executive (NPCE), while Smith, Martin and John were nominated by the Guyana Police Association and the Association of Former Members of the Guyana Police Force.

Retired Assistant Commissioner, Clinton Conway, who was nominated by the two police associations, and Taajnauth Jadunauth whose name was put forward by the National Commission on Law and Order did not make it in the final four.

A Partnership for National had wanted the four retired police officers, while the governing Peoples Progressive Party Civic (PPPC) had preferred Smith, Martin, Jadunauth and Satyanand.

In the end, the Alliance For Change’s Valarie Garrido-Lowe and the PPPC’s Juan Edghill nominated and seconded the four who were finally selected.

The Appointments Committee reported to the House that Smith and Martin, who previously served as PSC members, were unanimously agreed to. The other names were then put to a vote and John and Satyanand got four of the seven votes.

The Police Commissioner is responsible for promotions and disciplinary action from constable to sergeant while the PSC does so from Inspector to Assistant Commissioner.

The President , after consultations with the Opposition Leader, appoints the Deputy Commissioner and Police Commissioner.