Internet Radio

Who is really Guyana’s President? check the Voters List

Last Updated on Monday, 30 March 2015, 20:55 by GxMedia

President Donald Ramotar (left) and his predecessor, Bharrat Jagdeo.

Bharrat Jagdeo is still the President of Guyana and Donald Ramotar is merely a politician but they both live at State House, if we are to go by the latest version of Guyana’s voters list.

The Revised List of Electors (2015) published on the Guyana Elections Commission’s website also states that Ooma Jagdeo is listed as a resident of State House.

Essentially, this appears to indicate that Mr Ramotar, his wife and two children have since successfully requested that their names be transferred from their private residence at Goedverwagting, East Coast Demerara to State House, 52-53 Main Street, Georgetown.

Ramotar chose not to give his occupation as President, but as politician.

However, since demitting office after the November 2011 general and regional elections, Mr Jagdeo has not requested that his name be transferred to his private residence at Sparendaam, East Coast Demerara.

While the Prime Minister’s Official Residence is on Main Street, his address and that of his wife and daughter are listed as 52-53 Main Street where State House is located.

The addresses of Ryan Dev Basdeo and soldier, Vernon Burnett are also listed as 52-53 Main Street, Georgetown.

The People’s Progressive Party (PPP) and the opposition coalition have been advocating for a clean voters list that includes the transfer of persons to their current residential addresses and the removal of the names of deceased persons.