Internet Radio

Former Lucky Dollar manager charged with stealing GUY$8 million from store

Joanella Mongal

A former manager of the Lucky Dollar branch at Corriverton was Friday granted GUY$1.8 million on 18 charges of embezzling a total of GUY$8.8 million from the store one year ago.

Thirty-three year old Joanella Mongal of 8 Scottsburg, Corentyne is accused of committing the offences between January 6 and February 28, 2014.

Magistrate Sherdel Isaacs-Marcus granted the woman GUY$100,000 bail on each charge and ordered that she returns to the Springlands Magistrates’ Court on February 12, 2015.

She allegedly had told Republic Bank officials to cease recording the amounts deposited on the deposit slip since 15th May, 2013.

The court heard that she did not deposit a total of GUY$8,830,407 that were collected during the day to the Night Deposit although the records had shown that the cash had been banked.

The charges are being a clerk or servant at Unicomer Group (Lucky Dollar), Corriverton Branch, Mongal:

1.     Embezzled GUY$1, 512,061 that was received by her on behalf of her employer on Monday January
        6, 2014

2.     Embezzled GUY$280,725 on Wednesday January 8, 2014

3.     Embezzled GUY$125,222 on Thursday January 9, 2014

4.     Embezzled GUY$303,115 on Monday, January 13, 2014

5.     Embezzled GUY$878,295 on Wednesday, January 15, 2014

6.     Embezzled GUY$150,700 on Thursday, January 16, 2014

7.     Embezzled GUY$290,000 on Saturday, January 18, 2014

8.     Embezzled GUY$341,900 on Monday, January 20,2014’

9.     Converted GUY$253,000 to her own use on Tuesday, January 21, 2014

10.   Converted GUY$100,200 to her own use on Wednesday, January 22, 2014’

11.   Embezzled GUY$84,869 on Thursday, January 23, 2014

12.   Converted GUY$448,700 to her own use on Friday, January 24, 2014

13.   Embezzling GUY$131,500 on Saturday, January 25, 2014

14.   Embezzled GUY$692, 315 on Tuesday, January 28, 2014

15.   Embezzled GUY$123,800 on Wednesday, January 29, 2014

16.   Converted GUY$291,000 to her own use on Saturday, February 21, 2014

17.   Embezzled GUY$469,000 to her own use on Wednesday, February 26, 2014

18.   Embezzled GUY$2,230,125 on Friday, February 28, 2014.

The prosecution did not object to bail but urged that it be substantial.

Defence Lawyer, Ramesh Rajkumar told the court that Mongal worked at the store for 11 years during which time she never had a problem. The lawyer said his client was shocked that she was charged because no discrepancies were uncovered during stocktaking.