Internet Radio

Public Service Commission getting down to business

Last Updated on Thursday, 4 September 2014, 22:19 by GxMedia

Cecil Seepersaud taking the oath of office of Vice- Chairman of the Public Service Commission (GINA photo)

Veteran Trade Unionist Carvil Duncan was sworn in Tuursday as the Chairman of the Public Service Commission before President Donald Ramotar at the Office of the President.

The simple ceremony was followed by the swearing in of Vice- Chairman Cecil Seepersaud. The latter was formally sworn-in earlier today, after he was unavailable for the ceremony which saw the other members taking their oaths of office on September 1.

The new PSC Chairman was selected by his fellow commission members after a vote this morning, as was the Vice Chairman.

 According to Duncan, the first order of business will be to examine the various vacancies in the public service and have them filled.

“We’ll have to go through a process of advertising and most likely before the end of this week, we will send out circulars,” he stated. He said that the body will have to meet more frequently to ensure that the black-log of work is completed and he hopes that all of the members will make themselves available as much as possible so as to deal with the issues of the public service. 

Other members of the PSC, Patrick Yarde, Vidyawattie Looknauth, Mohammed Akeel and Patricia Went took their oaths of office on Sept 1. Consultations between President Donald Ramotar and Opposition Leader, David Granger saw the parties agreeing on the reconstitution of the service commissions on August 22.

The four service commissions are: the Judicial Service Commission (JSC), Teaching Service Commission (TSC), the Public Service Commission, and the Police Service Commission.