Internet Radio

GUYSUCO gets new Board

Last Updated on Monday, 18 August 2014, 23:17 by GxMedia

Shaik Baksh

Minister of Agriculture Dr. Leslie Ramsammy has announced that Shaik Baksh, currently Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Guyana Water Inc., has been appointed as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Guyana Sugar Corporation (Guysuco).

The Minister said, the board has been appointed by the Cabinet and the letters of appointment have been sent out to all the board members, while some of the current board members still remain.

The Minister said the other members are:  Dunstan Barrow, Chairman, Board of Directors, Linden Enterprise Network (LEN), Dr. Dindyal Permaul, Chief Executive Officer, Guyana Livestock Development Authority (GLDA), Keith Burrowes, Executive Chairman, Board of Directors, Guyana Office for Investment (Go-Invest), Badri Persaud, Managing Director, Guyana Oil (Guyoil) and Geeta Singh-Knight. Current CEO, Dr. Raj Singh, sits on the board as an ex-officio member.

Head of the Guyana Agricultural and General Workers’ Union (GAWU), Komal Chand refused an invitation to join the board.

He said there is one other person who has indicated that he is willing to serve on the board but is not prepared to as this point in time. His name will be announced within the next few weeks.

Under new management, a full turnaround of the company’s performance is expected.It is projected that the sugar industry will record an improvement of 15.6 percent in production output to 215,910 tonnes this year.

Increased production and lower cost of production; diversified target markets, and expansion of value-added production in order to survive are the measures to be taken to maximise production in the sugar industry.