Jagdeo told to submit nominees for new GECOM Chairman

Last Updated on Thursday, 24 November 2016, 12:16 by Denis Chabrol

Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo has been told that he can kick-start the process to select a new Chairman of the Guyana Elections Commission (GECOM), Minister of State, Joseph Harmon said.

“In a short space of time, the Leader of the Opposition will be required to submit a list (of names) from among which the President will have to make a choice,” Harmkn said.

The Minister of State stressed that the list of names must be one with which he has no objection.

Dr. Steve Surujbally has retired with effect from November 30, 2016.

Opposition Chief  Whip, Gail Teixeira several days ago had written to Harmon seeking to ascertain what will be the process that will be used to select and appoint the new GECOM boss and when.